Dominican Students’ Leadership Recognized by New Orleans Archdiocese

Five St. Mary’s Dominican High School students were among the honorees recognized for their commitment to their parishes in the Archdiocese of New Orleans. The Youth Leadership Awards were held at St. Louis Cathedral. The National St. Timothy Award for leadership, at both the parish and archdiocesan levels, was presented to 13 high school seniors. There were 46 parish youth ministries with 107 teenagers recognized with Outstanding Parish Youth Awards.

Saheba Cuccia (Holy Name of Jesus Parish) received the St. Timothy Award. The award is given to seniors in high school who exemplify good moral values, Christian Service and Catholic leadership. Involvement in parish, diocese, school, and community also is criteria for recognition. Nominees are required to be able to articulate and witness to their Catholic faith through essay and interview process.

Outstanding Parish Youth Award recipients were Maggie Latham (St. Matthew the Apostle), Mackie Foret (St. Matthew the Apostle), Pelarr Edwards (Our Lady of Perpetual Help, Kenner), and Jennifer Yrle (St. Francis Xavier).

St. Mary’s Dominican High School students recognized for parish leadership are, (from left), Maggie Latham, Mackie Foret, Saheba Cuccia, Pelarr Edwards, and Jennifer Yrle.