Dominican Robotics Teams Advance to Louisiana Regional Championship

Congratulations to Dominican’s two Robotics teams that received several awards at the FIRST® Tech Challenge (FTC) Qualifier competition, held remotely due to pandemic health guidelines. The Valkyries team and the Ultraviolet team move on to the Louisiana Regional Championship competition that will be on March 20th.

The Valkyries won the Judges Choice Award. This award is optional and may not be given at all tournaments. During the competition, the judging panel may meet a team whose unique efforts, performance, or dynamics merit recognition, but does not fit into any of the existing award categories.

The Ultraviolet team took first place for the Collins Aerospace Innovate Award. The award celebrates a team that thinks outside the box and has the ingenuity, creativity and inventiveness to make their designs come to life.  

They earned 2nd place for the Think Award, given to the team that best reflects the journey the team took as they experienced the engineering design process during the build season. The engineering contest within the portfolio is the key reference for judges to help identify the most deserving team

The team also won 3rd place for the Inspire Award that is given to the team that embodies what it is to be a FIRST robotics team and is a team that others can look up to as a role model. The Inspire Award is the highest ranked award as it embodies all other awards inside of it and allows a direct bid to the next level of competition.

Robotics coaches are Matthew Foss, Crissy Giacona, Kenneth Lannes, and Madelyn Maldonado.

Dominican Valkyries Team members:

Front Row (from left to right): Meredith Kononchek, Cecilia Cangelosi, Emma Ernst, and Elisabeth Amato.

Back Row: Rachael Tatford, Morgan Tebbe, Ashley Alexis, Pricilla Martinez, and Isabella Roberts.

Dominican Ultraviolet Team members:

Front Row (from left): Isabella Sachitano, Sydney Raymond, Audrey Wild, and Tess Baker.

Back Row: Caitlyn Dumas, Caroline Alleman, Madeline Pourciau,  Mia Reyes, Emma Plaisance, and Charlotte Raymond.

Virtual FIRST® Tech Challenge (FTC) Qualifier competition Photo Gallery