Dominican’s Academic Honors Day 2021 Salutes Seniors

St. Mary’s Dominican High School saluted students for achievements in academics and service at Academic Honors Day. A Salute to Seniors presentation recognized seniors in the National Honor Society, National Art Honor Society, National English Honor Society, Mu Alpha Theta, Tri-M, Language Honor Societies, Advanced Placement, Honor graduates, National Merit Scholarship Corporation Commended Scholar and Finalist, and acceptances to colleges and universities. At the close of ceremonies, the Class of 2021 was inducted into the school’s Alumnae Association. Alumnae presented each senior with a commemorative rosary as a symbol of sharing the Dominican legacy from one generation to the next. The rosaries were designed and made by Becky Bellows Crawford, Class of 1986.

St. Mary’s Dominican High School Principal Carolyn Favre presented Gracie Bott with the Knights of Columbus Award presented to the senior who has displayed the principles of charity, unity, fraternity, and patriotism and in doing so has displayed the highest degree of citizenship by helping others, especially those less fortunate.


Sydney Raymond received the St. Mary’s Dominican College Corporation Scholarship, presented by Sr. M. Dominic Savio Estorge, O.P. The annual scholarship is given in memory of the Dominican Sisters of St. Mary who established, maintained, and support both St. Mary’s Dominican College and St. Mary’s Dominican High School. Graduates who have been accepted and are attending a Catholic college or university have the opportunity to apply for the scholarship.


During their years at Dominican, the Class of 2021 completed 22,031 hours of service. Twenty-five students earned the St. Mary’s Dominican Service Award by performing over 200 hours. Three students who completed more than 450 hours of service were (from left), Kaitlyn Huynh (495 hours), Caroline Alleman (553 hours), and Elana Perriott (1066 hours).


Members of the 2020-2021 Executive Board of the Student Council, (from left), Allie Koenig, President; Kate Nolan, Vice-President; Grace Hamblin, Secretary; and Caroline Madden, Treasurer, were recognized for their leadership during the school year.


Three seniors recognized by the Alliance for Young Artists and Writers with Scholastic Art and Writing Awards were, from left, Faith Bass: Four Honorable Mentions, three in Drawing & Illustration and one in Mixed Media; Grace Beard: Five Honorable Mentions: Two in painting, two in Mixed Media, and one in photography; and Dajah Saul: Honorable Mention in Design.


Although District and State Literary Rallies were not held for the 2020-2021 school year, seniors whose outstanding performance in the 2019-2020 competitions were recognized, (from left, Sara Fath, District Qualifier and State Qualifier in Biology II; Sophia Forest, District Qualifier in Spanish IV; Allie Koenig, District Qualifier and first place Health; and Audrey Wild, District Qualifier in English IV.


Seniors who merited book awards last year, but could not be presented at that time were, from left, Rebekah Haase, The Brandeis Book Award for Social Action and Civic Engagement to a student who demonstrates a commitment to bettering her community through social action and volunteerism; Audrey Wild, The George Washington Alumni Book Award to a student who demonstrates, “leadership, integrity, and academic strength”; Dajah Saul, a copy of Bienville’s Dilemma, A Historical Geography of New Orleans, presented by Tulane University and Office of Undergraduate Admission to a student who demonstrates her academic achievement and commitment to community service; and Sydney Raymond, a copy of George Washington’s Leadership Lessons, presented by The Washington and Lee University to a student for her academic excellence and willingness to put “knowledge into action.”



May Crowning and Academic Honor Day Photo Gallery